HIGH-RANKING SYRIAN GENERAL DEFECTS FROM ARMY

Washington Times on March 16, 2013, published an AP report on a high-ranking general in the Syrian army saying he has defected with the help of rebel fighters. Excerpts below:

Maj. Gen. Mohammed Ezz al-Din Khalouf said in an interview with Al-Arabiya TV that he had left the regime and that morale inside the armed forces was bad.

Activist videos posted online show Khalouf sitting with a rebel fighter after his defection and riding in a car to what the video said was the Jordanian border.

While widespread defections from the Syrian army have sapped it of much of its manpower during the two-year-old anti-Assad uprising, high-level defections have been rare.

The U.N. says more than 70,000 people have been killed in the conflict.

10 Responses to “HIGH-RANKING SYRIAN GENERAL DEFECTS FROM ARMY”

  1. wordpress Help Says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  2. pantofi ieftini online Says:

    You should take part in a contest for one of the finest
    sites on the web. I will recommend this blog!

  3. watch tv online Says:

    I’m pretty pleased to uncover this page. I want to to thank you for ones time for this fantastic read!! I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new stuff on your web site.

  4. www.brinkjewelry.com Says:

    Hello! I just wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for
    your excellent information you have right
    here on this post. I’ll be returning to your web site for more soon.

  5. Reed Says:

    Great article, just what I was looking for.

  6. veterinarytechnicianpath.com Says:

    Top quality content articles are the important thing to invite the consumers to visit the site, that’s what this amazing site is offering.

  7. Nydia Says:

    Superb, what a webpage it is! This blog provides valuable facts to us, keep it up.

  8. Samsung UN55ES8000 Says:

    I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal blog now ;)

  9. Tonia Says:

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she keeps the image of a user in his/her brain
    that how a user can understand it. So that’s why this piece of writing is amazing. Thanks!

  10. visit site Says:

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    both educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you
    have hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I found this during my search for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

