GUAM AND STRATEGIC GEOMETRY – KEYSTONE OF AMERICAN MILITARY STRATEGY IN THE PACIFIC

American policy in the Pacific continues to be based on Alfred Thayer Mahan’s precepts: forward operation bases, positioning assets around choke- points and main sealanes, deploying a navy presence on all seas, and maintaining the capability to intervene at key geostrategic points.

American strategic thinking is further influenced by geopolitician Homer Lea. In his books The Valor of Ignorance and The Day of the Saxon, Lea regarded frontiers are mobile lines.

Should this view be used to interpret recent American strategy in the Asia Pacific, it would appear there is an American desire to ensure America’s national interests. This translates into a triple line of defense:

• Japan-South Korea-Taiwan-Thailand-Singapore.

• Japan-Guam-Philippines-Australia.

• Alaska/Aleutian Islands-Hawaii-Samoa.

Lea insisted on the need to rely on forward operation bases in the form of a triangle. “Strategic geometry” was the key principle on which much of his work was based, a strategy that translates quite well into what is currently taking place in the Asia-Pacific region. His argument is that there is a need to take into account:

• The number of triangles the bases will form.

• The frequency with which the main base is at the intersection of these triangles.

• The presence or not of enemy bases inside this network.

• The increase of maritime power leading to an increase in the number of bases.

By forming numerous triangles with Guam as the potential center or node, the United States is actually executing the argument presented by Lea.

Other examples of strategic triangles are the “Guam-Japan-South Korea,” “Guam-Darwin-Pearl Harbor,” “Guam-Taiwan-Japan” triangles.

For further information see “The Reassertion of the United States in the Asia- Pacific Region” byTanguy STruye de Swielande in journal Parameters of Spring 2012.

BBC News on its website describes Guam as an important staging post, allowing rapid access to potential flashpoints in the Koreas and in the Taiwan Strait. Excerpts below:

The largest military installation, Andersen Air Force Base, was used by B-52 bombers during the Vietnam War in the early 1970s. Nuclear attack submarines are based on the island.

The waters off Guam are the scene of major US navy war games.

The US plans to move 8,000 Marines and 10,000 dependents from the southern Japanese island of Okinawa to Guam by 2014 as part of its global realignment of US forces.

Visitors from Japan are the mainstay of the tourist industry. Away from the resorts and shopping malls, coral reefs and waterfalls are among the natural attractions.

Guam’s diverse population includes Japanese, Chinese, and incomers from other Pacific islands. The indigenous Chamorro are a people of mixed Micronesian, Spanish and Filipino descent.

The island was settled in the second century BC. A Spanish expedition led by Portuguese navigator Ferdinand Magellan arrived in 1521.

Guam was ceded to the US in 1898 after the Spanish-American War. The island was occupied by Japan during World War II. Many Guamanians died under the occupation before the territory was wrested from Japanese control in 1944.

Guam is vulnerable to storms. Typhoons swept across the island in 2002, leaving around 35,000 people homeless.

27 Responses to “GUAM AND STRATEGIC GEOMETRY – KEYSTONE OF AMERICAN MILITARY STRATEGY IN THE PACIFIC”

  1. source - www.iamsport.org Says:

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and
    let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about.

    I am very happy I came across this in my search
    for something relating to this.

  2. swimsuits Says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  3. pilates workout Says:

    You ought to be a part of a contest for one of
    the most useful sites online. I’m going to recommend this website!

  4. camera and photo printer Says:

    Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site
    unintentionally, and I am stunned why this twist
    of fate did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  5. pilates classes Says:

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people in this particular subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  6. cameras and camcorders Says:

    Excellent post. I definitely love this website.
    Continue the good work!

  7. http://wiki.scholarsoftheoccult.com/index.php?title=User:KimhxwbMO Says:

    Keep this going please, great job!

  8. organic crib sets Says:

    Your way of telling all in this paragraph is genuinely nice, every one can effortlessly understand it, Thanks a lot.

  9. furniture chairs Says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  10. Coffee Pure Cleanse Review Says:

    This is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate info… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

  11. Roxanne Says:

    Your style is very unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just bookmark this site.

  12. stretch mark removal Says:

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a information! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this web site.

  13. casita travel trailers Says:

    Hey there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends.

    I am confident they will be benefited from this web
    site.

  14. turquoise bedding Says:

    I’ve learn a few excellent stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much attempt you put to create one of these great informative website.

  15. top rated mattress toppers Says:

    Hello there! I just would like to offer you a big thumbs up
    for your great information you have right here on this post.
    I’ll be coming back to your site for more soon.

  16. ep 550 inversion table Says:

    Hello, yes this paragraph is in fact nice and I have learned
    lot of things from it about blogging. thanks.

  17. http://yuyu.vn/RosaRutte/info/ Says:

    Thanks very nice blog!

  18. Author's external home page... Says:

    Right now it sounds like WordPress is the top blogging platform available
    right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  19. Diana Says:

    My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day.

    You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  20. Britney Says:

    Amazing! Its genuinely remarkable post, I have got much clear idea regarding from
    this post.

  21. drill bits Says:

    Keep on working, great job!

  22. musicos Says:

    Hi there colleagues, its fantastic piece of writing concerning cultureand completely explained,
    keep it up all the time.

  23. back pain solutions Says:

    Hey there! I just would like to offer you
    a big thumbs up for the excellent info you have here on this post.

    I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  24. Astrid Says:

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.

  25. glossary.ckukoszalin.edu.pl Says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this amazing site
    needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

  26. mattress and back pain Says:

    I always emailed this webpage post page to all my associates, as if like to read it next my
    contacts will too.

  27. cures for cold sores Says:

    Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp so much
    approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in it or
    something. I believe that you simply could do with some % to pressure the
    message house a bit, but instead of that, this is
    great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

