PHILIPPINES ‘STRONGLY PROTESTS’ MAP USED ON CHINESE PASSPORTS

Washington Times on November 25, 2012, published an AP report on how a map that China has incorporated into its passports has drawn diplomatic fury because it appears to claim the entire South China Sea, ignoring competing claims from the Philippines, Vietnam and other neighboring countries. Excerpts below:

Philippine Foreign Secretary Albert del Rosario told reporters in Manila that he sent a note to the Chinese Embassy that his country “strongly protests” Beijing’s inclusion of an image showing China’s claimed maritime borders in its new passport.

Mr. del Rosario said China’s claims include an area that is “clearly part of the Philippines‘ territory and maritime domain.”

The Vietnamese government said it also had sent a diplomatic note to the Chinese Embassy in Hanoi, demanding that Beijing remove the “erroneous content” printed in the passport.

China maintains it has ancient claims to all of the South China Sea, despite much of it being within the exclusive economic zones of Southeast Asian neighbors.

The potentially oil- and gas-rich South China Sea islands and waters also are claimed by the Philippines, Vietnam, Taiwan, Brunei and Malaysia.

There are concerns that the disputes could escalate into violence.

China and the Philippines had a tense maritime standoff at a shoal west of the main Philippine island of Luzon early this year.

The Philippines, Brunei, Malaysia and Vietnam are scheduled to meet Dec. 12 to discuss claims in the South China Sea and the role of China.

The vice-ministerial level meeting goes against Beijing’s approach of trying to settle the conflicts with individual countries.

The meeting also steps outside the confines of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), which includes all four countries as well as several others close to China.

“[W]e are trying to demonstrate that we can endeavor to discuss [the territorial conflict] and we are willing to do this either within ASEAN or outside of ASEAN,” Mr. del Rosario said.

12 Responses to “PHILIPPINES ‘STRONGLY PROTESTS’ MAP USED ON CHINESE PASSPORTS”

  1. Jana Says:

    Hi there, yup this paragraph is actually good and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  2. Valentin Says:

    I really like what you guys are up too. This type
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

  3. Gloria Says:

    Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome,

    nice written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I would

    like to peer more posts like this .

  4. http://www.balancelle-bebe.fr/ Says:

    It’s an remarkable post designed for all the online people; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  5. echelle telescopique pas cher Says:

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have
    found It positively useful and it has aided me
    out loads. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its aided me.

    Great job.

  6. http://www.alicanteproperty.net/alicante-costa-blanca-spain-information-map.html Says:

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead

    and bookmark your site to come back later. Many

    thanks

  7. decodeur tnt hd Says:

    Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! present here at this web site, thanks admin of this website.

  8. www.spaingolf.us Says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your

    weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice

    quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    .

  9. www.catral.biz Says:

    Nice post. I study something more challenging on completely different blogs everyday.
    It should at all times be stimulating to read content material from
    other

    writers and observe a little

    one thing from their store. I’d choose to use
    some with the

    content material on my blog whether or not you don’t
    mind. Natually I’ll

    provide you with a link on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  10. new spain national team jersey Iker casillas Says:

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog

    and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn

    plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  11. Dominga Says:

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog

    and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I’ll learn
    many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  12. Madeline Says:

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very

    helpful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a comment